Skip to content
St. Germain’s Church Thurlby
St. Germain’s is a hidden gem of a building. Tucked away to the east of the road running through Thurlby there is evidence of a Christian presence on the site since Saxon times. The present building was founded in 1136. The only early features today are the 12th century doorway and 13th century north arcade.
St. Germain’s has historic links with the Bromhead family of Thurlby Hall, several of whom are commemorated in the building. RAF Swinderby (now the site of the new village of Witham St Hughs) was located in the parish. Several war graves in the churchyard mark the connection between the church and the RAF community.
One of the highlights of our year is our annual Rose Festival held in June each year. Spectacular displays of roses fill every part of the church with their beauty and their scent.